A chocolate croissant from Starbucks is the flaky, butter-laminated pastry with two pieces of chocolate inside, and it is the best known item in the case. Around it sit danishes, cookies, brownies, mini pies and seasonal bakes. This guide covers what each one is, how they compare and which to order, and it links back to the full Starbucks menu with every drink and food category.
Croissants and Danishes on the Starbucks Menu
A Starbucks croissant is the foundation of the laminated range: soft, flaky layers with a golden crust. The same dough carries the cheese danish, the cookie swirl and the cinnamon pull-apart, so they share a buttery base and differ in filling and topping.

Chocolate Croissant
$5.55+

Butter Croissant
$5.25+

Cheese Danish
$5.25+

Cookie Croissant Swirl
$5.55+

Cinnamon Pull-Apart
$5.25+
Chocolate Croissant: What You Get at Starbucks
The menu describes two generous pieces of chocolate wrapped in a butter croissant, with soft, flaky layers and a golden-brown crust. It is labeled vegetarian. The chocolate sits in the layers as pieces rather than a spread, so you get pockets of melted chocolate between flaky sheets of dough instead of one even filling.
Searching for chocolate croissant starbucks calories brings up figures from about 300 to 340 depending on the site, and the recipe has changed over time, so check the app for the current number before you rely on one. Ask for it warm and the chocolate softens while the outside stays crisp. Cold, it is firmer and more buttery. It is also the priciest single pastry in the case on the delivery app, tied with the Cookie Croissant Swirl.
Next to the Cookie Croissant Swirl, this one is the simpler pick: plain croissant dough with chocolate inside. The swirl mixes real cocoa into the dough itself and adds a chocolate streusel made from chocolate-cookie pieces on top, so it eats more like a dessert. If you want the pastry to taste of butter first and chocolate second, choose the chocolate croissant. If you want chocolate in every bite, choose the swirl.
Butter Croissant and Starbucks Ham and Cheese Croissant
The butter croissant Starbucks serves is the plain option, a classic with soft layers and a golden crust, also labeled vegetarian. A croissant from Starbucks in this form works with any drink because it has no filling to compete. Warmed, it is closest to a bakery croissant, and it is the cheapest of the croissants on the delivery menu. It also takes a spread well, so some people order it with a side of the sweet cream cheese icing described further down.
If you are after a ham and cheese croissant, the current delivery menu lists a Ham & Swiss on Baguette under Lunch instead, with Dijon butter and 25 g of protein. That is a sandwich, not a pastry, so it is not in the bakery case. See the Starbucks sandwiches and lunch page for it.
Cheese Danish, Cookie Croissant Swirl and Cinnamon Pull-Apart
The cheese danish is flaky croissant dough with soft, warm cheese in the center, and it is labeled vegetarian. The Cookie Croissant Swirl is the chocolatey one, with cocoa in the dough and cookie-piece streusel on top. The Cinnamon Pull-Apart is croissant pieces with cinnamon sugar and crunchy streusel, built to be torn apart by hand.
Of the three, the pull-apart is the one to share, and the swirl is the sweetest. The cheese danish is the most balanced, with a savory-sweet center that suits a plain black coffee. All three sit at the same delivery-app starting price band as the croissants, between $5.25 and $5.55.
Starbucks Chocolate Chip Cookie, Brownie and Other Treats
The chocolate chip cookie is thick and chewy, with semisweet chocolate chips, soft inside and crunchy outside. The double chocolate brownie is a rich chocolate base with generous chunks of semisweet chocolate. The berry blondie is a buttery bar with white chocolate pieces, swirled with raspberry and blueberry jam for a tangy edge.

Chocolate Chip Cookie
$4.25+

Double Chocolate Brownie
$5.25+

Berry Blondie
$5.25+
These three are room-temperature treats. The cookie is the simplest with coffee, the brownie is the richest, and the blondie is the lightest in flavor because of the jam. Any of them pairs well with an Americano or a cold brew, where the bitterness balances the sweet.
The cookie is the cheapest of the three on the delivery app, while the brownie and the blondie cost a little more. The cookie also has the most contrast in texture, with a crisp edge around a soft middle. The brownie is dense and fudgy by comparison. The blondie is the only one of the three built around white chocolate, with the jam adding a tangy note that cuts through the butter. Cookies and brownies sit in the Treats group on the delivery menu, not in Bakery, which is why some lists leave them out.
Muffins, Loaves and Mini Pies
Loaves are sliced cake-style breads, muffins are single-serve and mini pies are small hand pies. Starbucks rotates all three, so what you find depends on your store and the season.
Starbucks Banana Bread Nutrition and Other Loaf Facts
The banana walnut pecan loaf is the long-running loaf, and the iced lemon loaf is the citrus one with a sweet glaze. Neither is on the delivery menu data this site uses, so availability varies by store.
Both are heavier than they look, because each slice is a large portion and both are dense, moist bakes. Calorie counts for the banana loaf run in the high 300s on third-party sites, and starbucks lemon loaf nutrition figures land near 400, but sources disagree and recipes change, so confirm either one in the Starbucks app. Neither loaf appears in the comparison table below, because there is no reliable figure to put in it.
Starbucks Blueberry Muffin and Seasonal Mini Pies
The blueberry streusel muffin has long been a regular in the case, topped with a crumbly streusel. It is not on the delivery menu data here, so availability depends on the store, and the calorie figure changes with the recipe, so look it up in the app. A Pumpkin Cream Cheese Muffin shows up in the fall picks, labeled vegetarian, with cream cheese filling and spiced pepitas.
Mini pies are the seasonal side. The Apple Crumble Mini Pie has tender apples under a buttery streusel, and the Pecan Mini Pie has a toasted nut filling in a flaky crust. A Pumpkin Mini Pie appears in fall.

Apple Crumble Mini Pie
$3.65+

Pecan Mini Pie
$3.65+
Both have a flaky crust and a streusel or nut top. Mini pies are normally warmed, so ask for that, since they taste best that way. The apple one is the lighter in flavor, and the pecan one is the sweeter and richer of the two.
Bagels and Savory Bakery Items
A bagel from Starbucks is not part of the delivery menu data this site uses, so whether you can get one depends on the store. If your store carries them, ask for the bagel toasted and pair it with a spread. The menu does list an Avocado Spread, made with lime, sea salt, garlic and a touch of spice.
For a savory bite without a bagel, look at the Starbucks breakfast menu, which has the sandwiches built on toasted English muffins, plus wraps and egg bites.
Cake Pops and Sweet Add-Ons
Cake pops live on their own page. See the Starbucks cake pops guide for flavors like Birthday Cake and Chocolate. The Sweet Cream Cheese Icing is a creamy vanilla dip made with real cream cheese, meant for dunking your favorite pastry.

Sweet Cream Cheese Icing
$1.65+
Starbucks Chocolate Croissant Nutrition Compared With Other Pastries
Here is how six items compare. Prices are the delivery-app starting prices from the menu data. Calories are rounded figures from third-party nutrition databases, which differ from site to site and may not match the current recipe, so use them as a guide only. Sugar is left out because it was not confirmed for every item, and the loaves are left out because their figures vary too much.
Starbucks Chocolate Croissant Nutrition Compared With Other Pastries
| Item | Delivery-app price | Typical calories | Vegetarian label |
|---|
| Chocolate Croissant | $5.55+ | 300 to 340 | Yes |
| Butter Croissant | $5.25+ | About 260 | Yes |
| Cheese Danish | $5.25+ | About 290 | Yes |
| Chocolate Chip Cookie | $4.25+ | About 360 | Not stated |
| Double Chocolate Brownie | $5.25+ | 410 to 480 | Not stated |
| Berry Blondie | $5.25+ | Check the app | Not stated |
The butter croissant is the lightest of the group. The brownie is the richest, with the most calories on every site that lists it. The cookie falls between the pastries and the brownie. If the number matters to you, open the item in the app, because that figure follows the recipe in your store.
How Starbucks Bakery Items Are Warmed and Served
Croissants, danishes and mini pies can be warmed in the store oven if you ask, at no extra charge in most places. Warming softens the center and crisps the crust, and it melts the chocolate in the chocolate croissant. Cookies, brownies and loaves are normally served as they are. Warming a cookie is not standard, so do not count on it.
In the app, look for the warming option on the item screen. At the drive-thru, say "warmed" when you order. Warmed pastries take a minute or two longer. Stores restock their cases through the day, but how long a given item stays on the shelf varies, so earlier in the day gives the widest choice. On a delivery order you cannot control the warming, so expect the pastry to arrive at room temperature or just warm, and reheat it briefly at home if you want that fresh-from-the-oven texture.
Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free Bakery Choices
The chocolate croissant, butter croissant and cheese danish are labeled vegetarian in their menu descriptions. Cake pops such as Birthday Cake and Chocolate carry the same label.
Vegan is a harder ask. Croissants and danishes use butter, and third-party listings for the chocolate croissant show milk and egg among its allergens, so none of these is vegan. Wheat and soy also appear on those lists. Ask the store for the current allergen statement for any item.
Gluten-free is also tough here, since the pastries are wheat-based and stores prepare and warm food in shared equipment, which means cross-contact is possible. Read the label in the app, and see the guide to gluten-free food and drinks at Starbucks for packaged options.
New and Seasonal Bakery Items
Bakery items come and go. Mini pies and loaves follow the season, so apple and pecan lean toward the cooler months, and lighter fruit and citrus bakes lean toward warmer ones. The Berry Blondie, Cookie Croissant Swirl and Cinnamon Pull-Apart are listed on the delivery menu today, but Starbucks can swap items out at any point. To spot something new, look for a "New" or seasonal tag on the item in the app, and compare the app list with what the case shows in your store.
For everything beyond the pastry case, see the rest of the Starbucks food menu.
Starbucks Bakery FAQs
Does Starbucks warm its croissants and pastries?
Yes. A croissant at Starbucks is warmed on request, and so are danishes and mini pies, normally at no extra charge. Cookies, brownies and loaves are usually served as they are. Ask when you order, or tick the warming option in the app.
Is the chocolate croissant vegetarian at Starbucks?
Yes. The menu description labels the Chocolate Croissant as vegetarian. It is not vegan, since it contains butter, milk and egg. Dairy, egg, wheat and soy are listed allergens, so check the current allergen statement if you have an allergy.
Where can I find croissant nutrition and ingredient details?
The Starbucks app and website list nutrition and ingredients per item, which is the official source. Third-party databases are handy for a quick look, but recipes change. This site does not list calories, so rely on the app for the current figures.
How much is a chocolate croissant, and why does the price vary?
On the delivery app it starts around $5.55. In-store prices differ, because delivery menus add markups and each region and store sets its own prices. Taxes and licensed locations such as airports can add more. Treat any online price as a guide.
Does Starbucks sell vegan or gluten-free bakery items?
The pastries here are not vegan, because they use butter, milk or egg. None is gluten-free either, since they are wheat-based. Packaged snacks may fit better, and availability varies by store, so ask a barista or check the app.
Where do I find Starbucks cheese danish nutrition information?
Open the cheese danish in the Starbucks app and the item page gives the current calories and allergens, which is the source to trust. Third-party databases list about 290 calories for one danish, but treat that as a rough guide, since recipes and portions change.
Which bakery item goes best with a latte or cold brew?
A butter or chocolate croissant suits a latte because the milk and dough match. The cookie or brownie handles the bitterness of cold brew well. For a lighter pairing, try the berry blondie with an iced coffee.
Are bagels toasted at Starbucks?
When a store has bagels, they are normally served toasted if you ask. Bagels are not part of the delivery menu data we use, so availability varies. Check the app, and ask a barista about spreads such as the avocado spread.
Do Starbucks bakery items change with the season?
Yes. Mini pies, loaves and some pastries rotate with the season, and a store may stop carrying an item before the app updates. The croissants, cookie and brownie are the steadier part of the case. If a favorite is missing, ask a barista what replaced it.
How many calories are in the chocolate chip cookie?
Third-party databases list about 360 calories for one cookie, though figures vary by site and recipe. The cookie is thick and chewy, so it is a large portion for its price. Open the cookie in the Starbucks app for the number that applies to your store today.