
Pretty Pink Baja Blast®
This teal, tropical lime soda comes as a fountain drink, a frozen slush, a vanilla creme swirled version and a pink lemonade mix. The original has caffeine and sugar, and a zero sugar version exists. Check the cards below, then read on for size, calorie and caffeine details.

Teal lime soda versions to try

Pretty Pink Baja Blast®

MOUNTAIN DEW ® BAJA BLAST® dirty soda Freeze

MOUNTAIN DEW® BAJA BLAST® dirty soda
Baja Blast is a teal, tropical lime soda that started as a Taco Bell exclusive, and the restaurant now sells it in more forms than any other place. You can get it as a fountain drink, a frozen Freeze, a dirty soda with a creamy swirl, a Zero Sugar version and a handful of limited-time spinoffs.
This page sorts the whole family, so you can see how the versions differ in flavor, calories and caffeine. Looking for the rest of the beverage list? Open the Taco Bell drinks menu with freezes, refrescas and fountain sodas for everything else.
Prices here are delivery-app "from" prices unless noted, and calories come from the delivery listing or from Taco Bell's own drinks page for a Houston-area restaurant.
The family centers on a tropical lime soda with a bright teal color, and Taco Bell is where it was born. Today the family has eight main members:
Not every version is on every menu. Limited-time items come and go, and a few are cafe-only. Each one gets its own section below.
A quick way to choose: want the original taste, pick Classic. Want fewer calories, pick Zero Sugar. Want something new, try Midnight or Pretty Pink. Want it cold and slushy, choose the Freeze. Want a dessert in a cup, order a dirty soda.
It is a Mountain Dew flavor with tropical lime taste, a teal color and plenty of sugar, and it was created for Taco Bell by PepsiCo. It debuted in July 2004 and stayed a Taco Bell exclusive for about ten years.
The name honors Baja California, and the teal shade was chosen to resemble the water off its coast, according to one history of the drink. Sold only at the restaurant, it built a cult following that outgrew the menu.
The first packaged release came in 2014 as a limited run. More limited retail runs followed, and in 2024 it moved to year-round sales in stores for its 20th anniversary. A zero sugar version arrived in 2019.
Taco Bell still holds the advantage for variety. Fountain freshness, the Freeze, dirty versions and flavors like Midnight are sold only there.
Why does a restaurant soda taste different from a can? The fountain mixes syrup with carbonated water at the machine, and a cold cup with a lot of ice tastes sharper. Many fans say the fountain version is the way the drink is meant to be served, though that is a matter of taste.
Color is part of the identity too. Taco Bell built its look around the teal shade, which is why the cups and the Freeze all share it. When a new version arrives in a different color, such as purple for Midnight or pink for Pretty Pink, it signals a new flavor on top of the same tropical lime base.
The flavor is tropical lime. A history site lists high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, caffeine and two colorants, Yellow 5 and Blue 1, as key components. Those two dyes together make the teal color.
The Zero Sugar version swaps the sugar for artificial sweeteners. No common allergen ingredient appears in the sources reviewed for the plain soda, but the dirty versions add a creamy swirl, so anyone avoiding dairy should ask before ordering.
For the full, current ingredient statement, check PepsiCo's product facts or Taco Bell's nutrition guide, since formulas change.
Mountain Dew Baja Blast Zero Sugar is the version without the sugar, and it is not called "diet" anywhere on Taco Bell's menu. The brand uses the words Zero Sugar, so a search for diet or sugar free points to this drink.
On the Houston listing, a large Zero Sugar fountain drink has 15 calories. A dirty soda made with a Zero Sugar base is listed at 60, because the creme adds back sugar and fat.
How does it taste? The flavor is the same tropical lime, with the usual light aftertaste that comes with artificial sweeteners. Some people prefer it for that crisp finish, and others miss the fuller body of the original.
Who is it for? People who like the flavor but want to skip the sugar. At 15 calories in a large cup, it lets you pair the drink with a heavy combo without adding a second dessert's worth of calories.
Is it caffeinated? The brand sells it as a Mountain Dew product, so assume yes, though the sources reviewed do not give an amount for the fountain cup.
A 12 ounce can of the soda has about 54 mg of caffeine, according to a caffeine database. That works out to about 4.5 mg per ounce, so a 16 ounce serving carries roughly 72 mg and a 20 ounce cup about 90 mg. Those scaled figures are estimates, not Taco Bell's published numbers.
| Version | Caffeine | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Classic fountain | About 4.5 mg per ounce | Scaled from can data |
| Freeze | Not stated | No figure found |
| Zero Sugar | Not stated | No figure found |
| Midnight | Not stated | No figure found |
| Pineapple Citrus Energy | 120 mg per 20 ounces | Taco Bell listing |
For comparison, the Energy drink has roughly 120 mg in a medium cup, so it carries more than a fountain soda of the same size. A typical cup of brewed coffee has about 95 mg per 8 ounces.
Yes. The original soda contains caffeine, and one history site lists caffeine among its key components. The can figure of 54 mg per 12 ounces is lower than a cup of coffee but higher than most colas.
If you drink one with a large combo, count it as a real caffeine source. If you want none, choose a caffeine-free drink such as an Agua Refresca or unsweetened tea.
Timing matters. If you plan to drink one in the evening, the caffeine can linger for hours, so many people switch to a caffeine-free cup after mid afternoon. And if you pair the soda with an Energy drink or a coffee, the amounts add together.
Here are the calories you will see on Taco Bell's listings. They come from the Houston drinks page and the delivery menu.
| Version | Size | Calories |
|---|---|---|
| Classic fountain | Large | 410 |
| Zero Sugar fountain | Large | 15 |
| Midnight fountain | Large | 420 |
| Pretty Pink | Small | 250 |
| Pretty Pink | Medium | 310 |
| Pretty Pink | Large | 470 |
| Freeze | Large | 190 |
| Dirty Soda | Small | 270 |
| Dirty Soda | Medium | 320 |
| Dirty Soda | Large | 460 |
| Dirty Soda Freeze | Regular | 190 |
| Dirty Soda Freeze | Large | 230 |
| Dirty Soda, Zero Sugar base | Large | 60 |
One history site puts the sugar in a 16 ounce serving of the regular soda at about 59 grams. No sugar numbers for the Freeze or dirty versions were found, so none are given here.
A baja blast drink at Taco Bell is bigger than the 12 ounce can most people know, which is why the cup numbers look high. Remember that delivery prices include a markup, so the "from" prices on this page are not in-store prices.
Nutrition facts on a can describe 12 ounces. A restaurant cup is larger, so the same drink has more calories, sugar and caffeine.
To read a cup label, check the size first. A large cup of the soda holds about as many calories as a small meal side. If you want the flavor with fewer calories, choose a smaller cup or the Zero Sugar version.
Here is a simple way to compare. Take the calories on the cup and match them with the food you ordered. A medium dirty soda at 320 calories plus a Crunchwrap Supreme can turn a normal lunch into a heavy one, while a Zero Sugar fountain drink at 15 keeps the number nearly flat.
Remember too that Taco Bell updates its nutrition guide, and calories can shift when recipes or sizes change.
For wider comparisons, the full Taco Bell nutrition tables show how drinks stack up against food.
The pie released in November 2025 is a whole pie, priced at $19.99. It was described as a creamy, key lime-style dessert with a graham crumb crust and whipped cream on top.
Availability was tight. The pie was sold in-store and at the drive-thru at participating U.S. restaurants, excluding delivery. Quantities were limited, with a limit of one per order, and it was offered for a limited time while supplies lasted. Check the app to see whether it is still listed.
So can you get it delivered? No. Delivery was excluded, so the pie only worked for pickup and drive-thru orders.
A related drink, the Pie Chiller, blends real pieces of the pie with a vanilla ice cream base, then adds whipped cream and churro crunch. It was sold only at select Live Más Cafés in Southern California and Texas, from $4.19 for a 16 ounce small or $4.59 for a 20 ounce medium.
Other spinoffs have included a gelato and, at various times, brand items outside the restaurant. Limited items rarely last, so ask your restaurant what is on hand.
Cans and bottles are now sold in stores. After a limited run in 2014 and more limited runs after that, the brand went year-round in grocery stores in 2024.
What does that change? You can drink the flavor at home. It does not give you the fountain version, the Freeze, a dirty soda, Midnight or Pretty Pink, which are still Taco Bell items.
Many fans still go to the restaurant for a few reasons. Fountain soda tends to taste crisper and colder than canned. The Freeze and dirty versions simply are not sold elsewhere. And the limited items give a reason to visit.
A baja blast soda in a can is a good choice for a stock-up, while a restaurant visit is the way to try new flavors. Browse the rest of the beverage list in the Taco Bell drinks menu with freezes, refrescas and fountain sodas, or go back to the complete Taco Bell menu.
Not anymore. The soda debuted as a Taco Bell exclusive in 2004, and cans and bottles have been sold at stores since limited runs began in 2014. Fountain, Freeze, dirty versions, Midnight and Pretty Pink are still Taco Bell items.
Yes. A 12 ounce can has about 54 mg, so a larger restaurant cup has proportionally more. The Zero Sugar, Freeze and Midnight caffeine amounts are not published in the sources reviewed, so check the label if you need an exact figure.
A large fountain cup lists 410 calories on a Houston-area drinks page. A large Zero Sugar fountain drink is 15, and a large dirty soda is 460. Smaller sizes carry fewer calories.
It is the fountain soda with sweet vanilla creme swirled in. The swirl makes it creamier and adds about 50 calories to a large cup. You can order it with a regular or Zero Sugar base, or as a Freeze.
Midnight is a purple soda that blends passion fruit with the tropical lime taste of the original. It launched nationwide in 2025 as a permanent fountain flavor and is sold only at Taco Bell.
Yes. Zero Sugar is on the fountain list at 15 calories for a large cup, and a dirty soda made with a Zero Sugar base is 60. Taco Bell does not use the word diet for it.
Pretty Pink combines the tropical lime flavor of the original with pink lemonade. It was made with Olivia Rodrigo and is a limited-time drink. Calories are 250 small, 310 medium and 470 large on the delivery listing.
The sources reviewed state no caffeine amount for the Freeze, so no number is given here. Only the Energy Freeze lists caffeine, at 120 mg per 16 or 20 ounce cup. Ask your restaurant if you need to be sure.
No. The pie was sold in-store and at the drive-thru only, with delivery excluded and a limit of one per order. It was a limited-time item sold while supplies lasted.
A large fountain cup is listed at $3.19 on a Houston restaurant page, and the delivery "from" price for a dirty soda starts at $3.89. Prices differ by location, and delivery prices run higher than in-store prices.
No. It is a separate Mountain Dew flavor with a tropical lime taste and a teal color. Regular Mtn Dew is a citrus soda and is listed separately on the menu at 420 calories for a large cup.
Yes. Taco Bell lists regular Mtn Dew, Mtn Dew Zero and Midnight on its drinks page, along with the Classic and Zero Sugar versions of the tropical lime soda. Availability can vary by restaurant.